severance, the first week

Monday, February 11, 2013 the beginning of my first week outside of the ranks of the employed and it is fantastic. Now I realize this will not last forever and that new employment is on the distant horizon but if I conserve and drive the speed limit that horizon will stay distant, longer.

On Saturday, February 9th the day after my last day of work a fog bank consumed me like a hangover from an all night party with only enough mental strength for a workout at the local gym and to file for unemployment. Going through each routine (stretching, weight lifting, running in place) I was at ease, excited about the future, giddy, silly, and invincible as if life without a job is the norm and look to this opportunity with anticipation to expand on writing.  Two hours later I return home and try to wrap my head around doing taxes, clean house, walk the dog but, there was only enough oomph to start the unemployment process then turn on the television but not to watch some lame scripted, reality or dull talk show no, but that of the coolest game on earth, yea man hockey! My only disappointment came when the live feeds did not include the between periods commentary of Canada’s colorful icon, Don Cherry! Whether energized from the fast pace action of hockey or what sleep that night was a restless, flip-flopping mess.

Sunday, the 10th of February day two into my non-work life I settled in front of the PC a cup of strong coffee at hand and with tax information up on the screen did not leave until the envelope combing personal taxes and those for the St. John’s Crystal Cathedral, a tobacco accessories store in St John’s, Oregon I started two years ago was stamped, sealed, and addressed.  With only getting up to eat, drink, walk our pug dog Smokey Joe, and watch the Mighty Detroit Redwings down the Stanley Cup Champs, LA Kings 3-2 in hockey, the process took an exhausting five hours to complete but I wanted this done to count on, hopefully, my refund as part of the bankroll I will be living off until going back to work.

So, after partner Alfred left for work today I hunkered and sent out a few job applications for unemployment, worked a little on my writings, then just let the day quietly carry on. On Tuesday, I predict recovery from the fog and then back to the future.

more words to come

Leave a Reply

