Paper Technology, don’t ya know!

A last-minute decision today to drive done into the heart of downtown Portland, Oregon at of all times 4pm on a Friday evening! Yikes, whatever was I thinking!  Well, a good friend of mine asked if I would pick up some papers for him but I didn’t receive his text message until 330pm so quickly I figured to get to the shop well before the closing time of 5pm and then worry about getting home just as long as I procured the merchandise.

Heading south from Camas, Washington on Interstate 205 so far heavy traffic but moving, on time still.  About 10 minutes hit the Interstate 84 West interchange that will take me into the city (just now shades of the movie, Adventures in Babysitting came to mind)  so tooling along getting closer and closer to my destination then BANG!, the one thing I would have never thought of on a Friday night after work a traffic jam heading into Portland!  NNNNNNNOOOOOOO.  As the traffic inched along and drivers switched lanes every car length I noticed the electronic reading board stating a car accident on southbound Interstate 5 just where I planned to go.  Now moments like this call for swift decisions, stay and press hoping to still beat the clock or get off (cue Jeopardy theme song); I choose the latter mainly because I noticed the temperature gauge was moving into the red zone.

I drive the freeways so much these days that if I get off unexpectantly, I get lost and so I did lost but heading back in the direction I came from but with the radiator close to popping its top I park under a shady, turn off the engine and pull out my 1997 Thomas Brothers road map, the paper edition.  While driving I have never been able to get comfortable with a GPS system and the “recalculating” that is all to common my preference is a paper guide, don’s ya know, eh?   So under that shade I determined where I was, where I needed to get to, and how to achieve this.  Soon I was merging back onto whence I came Interstate 84 only heading east this time.

Now this is what I am expecting to see bumper to bumper traffic no one letting anyone merge in front of them but due to slowness the gauge of temperature hovered high, the gum I was chewing at this time got a hell of a workout.  Slowly traffic speed pickup and I arrived back home the car lighter in the gas tank, me sweating a bit, and empty-handed but comfortable in knowing that my trusty, good ol, paper map did its job, Yeah!

Leave a Reply

