Introduction to: Modern Pioneer

In 1997 the tug was too strong and resisting was foolish, I moved back home to close a circle opened in 1980 when a planned two-month stay that started in Eugene, Oregon visiting my brother stretched into 17 years of education and discovery ending in Southern California.  I got to the Pacific Northwest because the carpet cleaning company I worked for lay off workers in the winter as business slows and for reasons now lost to time I decide to stay in the Northwest after the two months to the amazement of family, friends, and employer in Michigan all expecting my return.  So now in a new world far from home and money low I procure a carpet cleaning job and during the summer of 1980 meet Alfred changing my life even more.  In 1982, we move to San Bernardino, California Al’s hometown and then to the coast at Ventura in 1984 where we stay put until 1996 when differences of opinion lead to Al heading north to Portland, Oregon and I back home to Michigan in 1997 to close that circle unintentionally opened in 1980.  As California and the West fade in the rearview mirror calpalms of the volvo1980 dl1980 Volvo DL  I was certain to never glance on its beauty again however both of us stay in touch and shortly after arriving in Michigan we reconcile our differences and I agree to stay one year and met up back in Portland.  What follows over the next several weeks is a six-part adventure of the drive I took from St Clair Shores, Michigan to Portland, Oregon after that year. 

 

Leave a Reply

