Pacific Northwest Temperament

During a break at work today

I ponder the seasonal change

And could not help but sense

Not just the quarterly alteration of the land

No

Something more, something deeper

The proverbial illumination brightens

For seems like yesterday

light bulbs

The dark in the morning that winter was before us

Summer’s household lamp comes on

And as if nature conserving her energy the switch clicks

Days are shorter, nights longer

What happened it was just yesterday

6 thoughts on “Pacific Northwest Temperament

  1. Ponder…. : )
    I hadn’t really thought about intentionally using the ambiance to set the mood for writing. Hmmmm…..
    I have noticed there are triggers, which it sounds like you had. The lights triggered the thoughts and the words came?? Yes?
    My writing seems to be in waves, depending on how much time I have to give them in my imagination. Thank you for the feedback, I’m a curious lady!

    1. the lighting yes that is the photographic eye I learned to use after reading a book by kodak called “the art of seeing” there are days the well is dry for me too but that is what i love so much, just when you think the chips are down the water flows, eh?

      1. As long as the water’s not too cold, I’m happy to put my feet in! Lol…
        “The art of seeing” thank you, I will research it. Have an inspiring day! : )

  2. These words set a mood, which is interesting….
    a feeling of nostalgia. Is it the use of specific words, like ponder? Does ponder evolve a mood? Do you intentionally recognize the mood when you’re writing it, or it is simply your mood coming through?

    I’m ready for the log nights, but not the cold. : )

Leave a Reply

